Sunday, June 26, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Western Province announces their teams for Craven Week

Western Province has named their teams for the annual Craven Week which they will host in Cape Town from 3 to 9 July. The prestigious tournament will be hosted on the grounds of Rondebosch Boys’ High.

There is like with most selection a couple of surprises. Paarl Boys’ High has the most representatives in the A-selection with seven players from the school making the team.

The top-ranked team in the country according to School of Rugby’s rankings, Paarl Gimnasium, have with five players the second most representatives in the team.

Wynberg Boys’ High‘s tighthead prop, Zachary Porthen, has been named captain of the team.

Paul Roos Gimnasium‘s try-scoring machine, Luke Graham, got the nod on the wing. The sensational Jurenzo Julius didn’t make the cut for the A-selection but did make the Western Province XV which will also attend the tournament.

Julius was injured during the trials which probably had a big impact on him missing out on representing the union’s prime selection.

The two teams also showcase the amount of talent that is available in Western Province. The union was not able to select a couple of stars – Bruce Sherwood (Bishops), Liam Koen (Paarl Gimnasium), Divan Fuller (Paarl Boys’ High), Tommie Smook (Stellenberg), and PA van Niekerk (Paarl Gimnasium) due to them being sidelined with injuries.

The selectors however still managed to select teams that would be able to beat most of the teams in attendance at Rondebosch.

PHOTO: Frans Lombard/Actionpix

The teams: 

Craven Week: 15 JC Mars (Paarl Boys’ High), 14 Luke Graham (Paul Roos Gimnasium), 13 Shah-Jehaan de Jongh (Paarl Boys’ High), 12 Freddie Dreyer (Boland Landbou), 11 Jameel de Jongh (Paarl Boys’ High), 10 Thurlon Williams (Paarl Boys’ High), 9 Emrique Liedemann (Paarl Gimnasium), 8 Jamie Ricketts (Rondebosch Boys’ High), 7 Thabisho Molekwa (Wynberg Boys’ High), 6 Matthew Fick (Paarl Boys’ High), 5 Keanu Coetzee (Paarl Gimnasium), 4 Ben Heydenrych (Paarl Boys’ High), 3 Zachary Porthen (Wynberg Boys’ High – captain), 2 Luca Bakkes (Paarl Gimnasium), 1 Wilbur Loubser (Paul Roos Gimnasium). Replacements: 16 Jono Birhange (Rondebosch Boys’ High), 17 Jean Fourie (Paarl Gimnasium), 18 Bradley Stanfliet (Paarl Boys’ High), 19 Yaseen Arendse (Milnerton), 20 Gareth Blackmore (Rondebosch Boys’ High), 21 Asad Moos (Wynberg Boys’ High), 22 Jacques Jooste (Rondebosch Boys’ High), 23 Janeil Losper (Paarl Gimnasium).

7 Paarl Boys’ High | 5 Paarl Gimnasium | 4 Rondebosch Boys’ High | 3 Wynberg Boys’ High | 2 Paul Roos Gimnasium | 1 Boland Landbou | 1 Milnerton  

Craven Week XV: 15 Jandre Genis (Boland Landbou), 14 Scott Nel (Paarl Boys’ High), 13 Gino Cupido (Strand), 12 Luke Carew (Paarl Boys’ High), 11 Angelo Daniels (Boland Landbou), 10 Kyle Smith (Paarl Gimnasium), 9 Aidan Muller (Stellenberg), 8 Hugo-Ben Horn (Paarl Boys’ High), 7 Herman Lourens (Paul Roos Gimnasium – captain), 6 Xola Nyali (Wynberg Boys’ High), 5 Sampie Joubert (Paul Roos Gimnasium), 4 Danio Botha (Paarl Gimnasium), 3 Bernard Bladergroen (Paarl Gimnasium), 2 Tian Vorster (Paarl Boys’ High), 1 Matthew Beckett (Wynberg Boys’ High). Replacements: 16 Junior Stoltz (Paul Roos Gimnasium), 17 Ali Osman-Bosch (SACS), 18 Herman Lubbe (Stellenberg), 19 Dean Crous (Paarl Gimnasium), 20 Isiah Louw (Wynberg Boys’ High), 21 Hashim Pead (Diocesan College), 22 Joe Bezuidenhoudt (Boland Landbou), 23 Jurenzo Julius (Paul Roos Gimnasium).

4 Paarl Gimnasium | 4 Paarl Boys’ High | 4 Paul Roos Gimnasium | 3 Boland Landbou | 3 Wynberg Boys’ High | 2 Stellenberg | 1 Strand | 1 Bishops | 1 SACS


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!