Saturday, August 13, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

This year’s Currie Cup-final has a Grey-ish colour to it

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 5 September 2019 Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

CurrieCupThis year’s Currie Cup final will have a Grey-ish colour to it.

No less than seven former students from Grey College in Bloemfontein will be in action when the Free State Cheetahs and the Golden Lions meet each other at 17:00 in the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein. 

Six of the players Ruan Pienaar, William Small-Smith, Dries Swanepoel, Henco Venter, Gerhard Olivier and Jacques du Toit will play for the home side. The Golden Lions’ lock Ruben Schoeman also matriculated from undoubtedly South Africa’s premier rugby school. 

Interesting is that William Small-Smith (2010) and Dries Swanepoel (2011) was Grey College’s school captains in their respective matric years.

Waterkloof of Pretoria, Jeppe High School for Boys’ and Paarl Boys’ High have the second most representatives in the final with three players each. Reinach Venter (Cheetahs), Duncan Matthews and Marnus Schoeman (both Lions) are all former Klofies. 

Paarl Boys’ High three former students are Charles Marais (Free State), Wilhelm van der Sluys and Jan-Louis la Grange (both Lions). 

The teams: 

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies (New Orleans), 14 William Small-Smith (Grey College), 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg (Frikkie Meyer), 12 Dries Swanepoel (Grey College), 11 Tian Meyer (Westville Boys’ High – captain), 10 Tian Schoeman (HTS John Vorster), 9 Ruan Pienaar (Grey College), 8 Henco Venter (Grey College), 7 Junior Pokomela (Grey High School), 6 Gerhard Olivier (Grey College), 5 Walt Steenkamp (Rustenburg), 4 Sintu Manjezi (St Andrew’s College), 3 Erich de Jager (Brandwag, Uitenhage), 2 Joseph Dweba (Louis Botha/Florida), 1 Ox Nche (Louis Botha). Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit (Grey College), 17 Charles Marais (Paarl Boys’ High), 18 Reinach Venter (Waterkloof), 19 JP du Preez (EG Jansen), 20 Abongile Nonkontwana (St Alban’s College), 21 Jasper Wiese (Hoërskool Upington), 22 Louis Fouché (Rustenburg), 23 Darren Adonis (Oakdale Landbou). 

Golden Lions: 15 Tyrone Green (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 14 Madosh Tambwe (Parktown Boys’ High), 13 Wandisile Simelane (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 12 Duncan Matthews (Waterkloof), 11 Stean Pienaar (Menlopark), 10 Shaun Reynolds (Goudveld-Hoërskool), 9 Ross Cronjé (Michaelhouse – captain), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani (Jeppe High School for Boys’), 7 Cyle Brink (King Edward VII), 6 Marnus Schoeman (Waterkloof), 5 Marvin Orie (Tygerberg), 4 Ruben Schoeman (Grey College), 3 Jacobie Adriaanse (Paarl Gimnasium), 2 Pieter Jansen (EG Jansen), 1 Dylan Smith (King Edward VII). Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher (Garsfontein), 17 Nathan McBeth (Monument), 18 Johannes Jonker (Hudson Park), 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys (Paarl Boys’ High), 20 Len Massyn (Monument), 21 Dillon Smit (HTS Middelburg), 22 Jan-Louis la Grange (Paarl Boys’ High), 23 Jamba Ulengo (Jim Fouché).

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (President, Goodwood). 
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs (Welkom Gimnasium) and Egon Seconds (Voortrekker, Cape Town).

Schools and their Players: 

7 – Grey College (William Small-Smith, Dries Swanepoel, Ruan Pienaar, Henco Venter, Gerhard Olivier, Jacques du Toit, Ruben Schoeman).

3 – Waterkloof (Reinach Venter, Duncan Matthews, Marnus Schoeman), Paarl Boys’ High (Charles Marais, Jan-Louis la Grange, Wilhelm van der Sluys), Jeppe High School for Boys’ (Tyrone Green, Wandisile Simelane, Hacjivah Dayimani).

2 – Hoërskool Rustenburg (Walt Steenkamp, Louis Fouché), EG Jansen (Pieter Jansen, JP du Preez), Louis Botha (Ox Nche, Joseph Dweba),  King Edward VII (Dylan Smith, Cyle Brink), Monument (Nathan McBeth, Len Massyn).

1 – Frikkie Meyer (Benhard Janse van Rensburg), Westville Boys’ High (Tian Meyer), HTS Middelburg (Dillon Smit), HTS John Vorster (Tiaan Schoeman), Menlopark (Stean Pienaar), New Orleans (Clayton Blommetjies), Brandwag, Uitenhage (Erich de Jager), Paarl Gimnasium (Jacobie Adriaanse), Florida (Jospeh Dweba), Grey High School (Junior Pokomela), Parktown Boys’ High (Madosh Tambwe), Goudveld-Hoërskool (Shaun Reynolds), Hudson Park (Johannes Jonker), St Andrew’s College (Sintu Manjezi), St Alban’s College (Abongile Nonkontwana), Garsfontein (Jan-Henning Campher), Hoërskool Upington (Jasper Wiese), Jim Fouché (Jamba Ulengo), Oakdale Landbou (Darren Adonis), Michaelhouse (Ross Cronjé), Tygerberg (Marvin Orie).

Stories on previous Currie Cup finals and the schools the players attended: 

Currie Cup Final of 2017 have a strong Bloedwors taste
Spelers en hul skole vir vanjaar se Curriebeker-eindstryd
Bishops meeste verteenwoordigers in Curriebekereindstryd van 2015
Michaelhouse meeste verteenwoordigers in Curriebeker-eindstryd

[powr-comments id=”087ab795_1567695076079″]


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!