Saturday, August 13, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Some big names knocked-out of second round of the BDCE Campus Cup

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 28 July 2020 Tags: , , , , , ,

BDCECampusCupLogoIt has been an amazing opening round of the inaugural BDCE Campus Cup. During the first two weeks of the competition, an incredible 1.95 million people have seen our matches on our Facebook page. 

In the 128 matches of the opening round an astonishing 271 159 votes have been cast. The second week of round two’s matches saw just over 162K votes being cast, while just over 1.1 million people were reached with the polls. 

The closest match-up of the second week was between Hoërskool Nelspruit and Dr. Malan of Meyerton. The match’s percentages were split 50.3 to 49.7 after 5 100 votes were cast by the time the final whistle was blown on Saturday. Nelspruit taking the honours by the smallest of margins.  

 Quite a couple of the more traditional rugby schools of South Africa was knocked out during the second week of the first round. The most notably being Paarl Boys’ High being trumped by Ellisras (56-44). The two powerhouses of South Western Districts, Outeniqua and Oakdale Landbou, were also knocked out by Hugenote of Springs and Swartland of Malmesbury respectively. 

Goudveld-Hoërskool of Welkom also knocked out Boland Landbou. The school from Welkom made a video to garner some valuable support for their campaign. Penryn College also followed suit and managed to narrowly defeat Monument Park. 

Schools are encouraged to make videos like these to help spread awareness of these matches – even using famous old-boys is permitted within the rules of the competition. 

The first champion of the BDCE Campus Cup will receive a lucrative prize in R15 000 in cash and also a USN hamper worth R8 000. The losing finalists will also receive a cash prize of R10 000, while there is also something in it for the smaller schools that take part in the competition. The so-called second-tier school that progresses the furthest in the competition will also win R5 000 in cash.


Every tag of a friend within the comments and sharing of the matches will play a major role in who will be walking away with the big prize in September.

Our title sponsor, BDCE (Business Development Centre of Excellence), provides SETA Accredited Learnerships, Accredited Training, Skills Development, Non-Accredited Training, and Short Courses for businesses. Please have a look at what they offer by clicking on their banner or highlighted name in the paragraph. 

The competition is a knock-out tournament like the FA Cup (in English soccer) or the former Lion Cup (SA Rugby competition). The winner of each match/tie is determined by who gets the most votes in the match-up.

The only way to vote is by doing it on the Facebook post made by School of Rugby. The post may be shared with groups and pages of the schools as well as by friends/alumni. Voting is done by clicking on the school’s logo you want to vote for. 

Show support to your school or community by voting them to the next round. The competition will take nine-week in total and your school will need your support for eight of the week if they are going to be crowned the first virtual champions of South Africa. 

DigiCampus is also one of our sponsors that made this unique competition possible. They provide online video lessons of the CAPS curriculum from Grade R to 12 for all subjects. If you have a child in school during these uncertain times – they provide an excellent free service in helping schoolchildren with an extra resource to better their grades. 

For more information about the competition visit our website or download the School of Rugby app on the Google Playstore. If you are an iPhone user you could also download the app by going to and clicking on the home button in the right bottom corner and select install application on the device. 


All the Results (Round 1, Week 2): 

Wilgerivier 67 33 St Andrew’s College
Linden 83 17 Uplands College
Klerksdorp 81 19 St Alban’s College
Overberg 55 45 Schweizer-Reneke
Goudveld 54 46 Boland Landbou
Bastion 58 42 HTS Sasolburg
Hoërskool Kroonstad 70 30 Hilton College
Burgerdorp 58 42 Augsburg Gim
Hugenote (Springs) 51 49 Outeniqua
Hartbeespoort 91 9 Solomon Mahlangu
Swartland 52 48 Oakdale Landbou
Wolmaransstad 54 46 Reitz
HTS Drostdy 53 47 Landboudal
Vredenburg 71 29 Port Natal
Driehoek 61 39 Ben Vorster
Prieska 51 49 Sasolburg HS
Hermanus 69 31 Michaelhouse
Middelburg (EC) 57 43 Stoffberg
Garsfontein 53 47 Vryburg
Overkruin 58 42 Charlie Hofmeyr
Paarl Gimnasium 53 47 Witteberg
Die Wilgers 51 49 St Andrews (Bloem)
Ellisras 56 44 Paarl Boys’ High
Standerton 60 40 Humansdorp Sec
Riebeeckstad 57 43 Bloemfontein HS
HTS Middelburg 65 35 Hentie Cilliers
Brandwag (Benoni) 62 38 Harrismith
Heidelberg Volkskool 56 44 EG Jansen
Zeerust 55 45 Frans du Toit
AHS Kroonstad 60 40 Diocesan College
Oosterlig 67 33 Hopefield
Helpmekaar 61 39 Fichardtpark
New Orleans 55 45 Allen Glen
Nelspruit 50 50 Dr. Malan
Heilbron 60 40 Lydenburg
Oos-Moot 53 47 Wesvalia
Hartswater 86 14 Belvedere
Centurion 67 33 Dale College
Bergsig Akademie 76 24 President (WC)
Secunda 63 37 Jeppe
Merensky 64 36 Morgenzon Landbou
Potch Gimmies 64 36 Northwood
HTS Port Rex 57 43 St David’s Marist
Duineveld 57 43 Grey High School
Aliwal-Noord 57 43 Hendrik Potgieter
Transvalia 52 48 Piet Retief
Bekker 72 28 HTS Bellville
Voortrekker (NFS) 61 39 Hugenote (Wellington)
Fochville 68 32 Vaalharts
Kempton Park 68 32 Hangklip
Piketberg 68 32 De Vos Malan
Hans Strijdom 52 48 Lichtenburg
Pretoria-Noord 59 41 Zastron
Hudson Park 52 48 Pretoria Boys’ High
Schoonspruit (NW) 61 39 Wessel Maree
Maritzburg College 70 30 St Charles College
Despatch 57 43 Namakwaland
Jeugland 54 46 Glenwood
Volksrust 89 11 Ithembelihle
Paul Roos 72 28 Muir College
Ferrum 63 37 Southdowns College
Pionier 55 45 Selborne College
Parel Vallei 58 42 Milnerton
Penryn College 51 49 Monumentpark

[powr-comments id=”e663cfb2_1595933541809″]


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!