Thursday, August 18, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

SARU names Junior Bok squad for Argentine tour

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 29 April 2015


SARU has confirmed the 28-man Junior Springbok squad for a two-match series against Argentina Under-20 in Rosario next month.

The squad will be led by Vodacom Bulls number eight Hanro Liebenberg, who also captained the Junior Boks last week in their match against the Varsity Cup Dream Team in Stellenbosch.

The Junior Springboks fly out to Argentina on 8 May and return ten days later. They will play against their Argentine counterparts, on 12 and 16 May in Rosario.

A total of 17 forwards and 11 backs were selected for the trip. The short tour forms an important part of the Junior Springboks’ preparations for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship in June in Italy.

According to Dawie Theron, the Junior Springbok coach, the tour against the Los Pumitas will give his squad important playing time against strong opposition.

“We only have three matches left before we play in the Under-20 Championship in Italy. Two are against Argentina U20 and the remaining outing will be against the WP Rugby Institute in Stellenbosch. So this tour is vital for our preparations,” Theron emphasised.

He added: “Argentina is a very tough team to play, especially on their home ground so we can brace ourselves for two tough, physical clashes. The boys did well to come out on top of a very good Varsity Cup Dream Team last week and now we will have another two matches to try our combinations and give much needed game time to our players.”

Cell C Sharks fly half Innocent Radebe, who had a very solid match last week in Stellenbosch for the Varsity Cup Dream Team against the Junior Boks, was ruled out of the tour because of an ankle injury he sustained while on Vodacom Cup duty this past weekend.

The Junior Springbok squad to tour Argentina from 8 – 18 May are:

Forwards (17)

Hyron Andrews (Cell C Sharks)
Dan du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
Joseph Dwebe (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Njabulo Gumede (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jason Jenkins (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ruan Kramer (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
*Hanro Liebenberg (Vodacom Bulls – captain)
Mzamo Majola (Cell C Sharks)
Ox Nche (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jan van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Frans van Wyk (DHL Western Province)
CJ Velleman (EP Kings)
Jacques Vermeulen (DHL Western Province)

Backs (11)

Daniel du Plessis (DHL Western Province)
Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Grant Hermanus (DHL Western Province)
JT Jackson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)
Marco Janse van Vuuren (Golden Lions)
Khanyo Ngcukana (DHL Western Province)
Ernst Stapelberg (DHL Western Province)
Brandon Thomson (DHL Western Province)
Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province)

Issued by SARU Corporate Affairs



Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!