Monday, July 4, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Results of Day 1 of the Tony Stoops Festival 2014

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 31 March 2014 Tags: , , , , , ,

Noord-Kaap of Kimberley showed in their clash against Paarl Boys’ High on the first day of the Tony Stoops Rugby Festival hosted by Tygerberg that they will be amongst the big boys yet again in 2014. The encounter ended in a 19-all draw.

The team from the City of Diamonds could’ve easily won the match if they decided to aim two kickable penalties at goal instead of going for the touchline. Northerns’ coach, Shaun Huygen says he is happy with the outcome of the match and their decision not to take the shots at goal.

Northerns’ fullback, Wilfred Bowers was named man of the match for his performance. The team’s scrumhalf, Brandon de Melim can also feel pleased with his performance in the match.

Wynberg Boys’ High also impressed in their 56-18 victory over Swartland. Their hooker, Bevan Barnard scored four tries.


Noord-Kaap 19 (7) – Tries: Wilfred Bowers, Thulani Njenje, Brandon de Melim. Conversions: Robbie Petzer (2). Paarl Boys’ High 19 (12) – Tries: Wian Gouws, Rayhann Lombaard, Charl-Francois du Toit. Conversions: Ryan Lafite (2).

Wynberg Boys’ High 56 – Tries: Bevan Barnard (4), Ryan Southern, Michael Koen, Jihaad Smith, Keagan Timm. Conversions: Karl Martin (5). Penalties: Martin (2). Swartland 18 – Tries: Zane Farmer (2). Conversion: Caleb Louw. Penalties: Louw (2).

Montana (Worcester) 27 – Tries: Gino Delilie, Tiaan de Jongh, Jaco Erasmus. Conversions: JP la Grange (3). Penalties: La Grange (2). Kirkwood 19 – Tries: André Potgieter, Christiaan Janse van Rensburg, Devan Koen. Conversions: Clinton Mbonda (2).

Labori 18 – Tries: Johandré Booysen, Christiaan Smit. Conversion: John de Wee. Penalties: De Wee (2). Fairburn College 3 – Penalty: Adrian Bam.

Dirkie Uys 26 – Tries: Gean Hanse (2), Devarn Beukes, John-Lee Persens. Conversions: Beukes (3). Hottentots-Holland 12 – Tries: Dylan Scholtz, Kyle Erasmus. Conversion: Scholtz.

Langenhoven HS 19 – Try: Lewies Janse van Rensburg. Conversion: Caleb Nortje. Penalties: Nortje (4). Alexander Road 6 – Penalties: Dyllan Walters (2).

Parow 20 – Tries: Herschell de Bruyn, Junaine Davids, Ashwin Williams. Conversion: De Bruyn. Penalty: De Bruyn. Emil Weder 13 – Try: George Morkel. Conversion: Jacques Arendse. Penalties: Arendse (2).

Vredenburg 35 – Tries: Keith Rhoda, Michael Bartlett, Ruelbridge George, Cuan Lewis, Penalty Try. Conversions: Yushrique Links (2). Penalties: Links (2). Table View 9 – Penalties: Brad Glanvill (3).

Hopefield 29 – Tries: Johan Bothma, Dian Lourens, Duane Breedt, DJ Louw, Anton Frick. Conversions: Roehan le Roux (2). Jan Kriel 8 – Try: Nathier April. Penalty: JC Scheepers.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!