No surprise which school has the most old boys in the Currie Cup final

Written by Hannes Nienaber

CurrieCup School of Rugby | No surprise which school has the most old boys in the Currie Cup final - School of RugbyThe 47 players named to play in Saturday's Currie Cup final between the Blue Bulls and Sharks at Loftus Versfeld come from 31 schools around the country. The final kicks off at 17:00 with the Bulls attempting to become the first team ever to win two Currie Cup titles in one calendar year.

Almost half of the players - in total 20 of them represent solitary schools. In total, only 11 schools have more than one old boy represented in the final. 

No surprise that Grey College of Bloemfontein has the biggest representation with five old boys - David Kriel, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, WJ Steenkamp, Marius Louw, and Henco Venter who will be in action during the prestigious competition's final. 

Paarl Boys' High's alumni for the final is four players strong. One of their alumni Le Roux Roets matriculated at Garsfontein in Pretoria but he did play a few matches for the first team of Boishaai. 

The schools and their players: 

5 - Grey College (David Kriel, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, WJ Steenkamp, Marius Louw, Henco Venter).

4 - Paarl Boys' High (Thaakir Abrahams, Le Roux Roets, Thomas du Toit, Dan Jooste).

3 - Queen's College (Yaw Penxe, Simphiwe Matanzima, Lionel Cronjé).

2 - SACS (Chris Smith, Lucky Dlepu), Durban High School (Sanele Nohamba, Phepsi Buthelezi), Garsfontein (Keagan Johannes, Le Roux Roets), Grey High School (Curwin Bosch, Jeremy Ward), Affies (Joe van Zyl, Gerbrandt Grobler), Glenwood (Khuthu Mchunu, Kerron van Vuuren), Paarl Gimnasium (Zak Burger, Stravino Jacobs), Selborne College (David Coetzer, Khwezi Mona).

1 - Bergrivier (Cornal Hendricks), Fichardtpark (Lionel Mapoe), Frans du Toit (Harold Vorster), Parktown Boys' High (Madosh Tambwe), Wonderboom (Ruan Nortjé), Potchefstroom Gimnasium (Gerhard Steenekamp), Port Natal (Marcell Coetzee), Stellenberg (Janko Swanepoel), Eldoraigne (Mornay Smith), Nylstroom (Arno Botha), Transvalia (Elrigh Louw), Michaelhouse (Ruan Combrinck), Pretoria-Noord (Jacques van Rooyen), Ermelo (Jacques du Plessis), Nelspruit (Werner Kok), Bredasdorp (Anthony Volmink), Jamangile Secondary (Thembelani Bholi), Paul Roos Gimnasium (Reniel Hugo), Kearsney College (Dylan Richardson), Maritzburg College (Ntuthuko Mchunu).

The teams: 

Blue Bulls: 15 David Kriel (Grey College), 14 Cornal Hendricks (Bergrivier), 13 Lionel Mapoe (Fichardtpark), 12 Harold Vorster (Frans du Toit), 11 Madosh Tambwe (Parktown Boys' High), 10 Chris Smith (SACS), 9 Zak Burger (Paarl Gimnasium), 8 Elrigh Louw (Transvalia), 7 Arno Botha (Nylstroom), 6 Marcell Coetzee (Port Natal - captain), 5 Ruan Nortjé (Wonderboom), 4 Janko Swanepoel (Stellenberg), 3 Mornay Smith (Eldoraigne), 2 Joe van Zyl (Affies), 1 Gerhard Steenekamp (Potchefstroom Gimnasium). Replacements: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Grey College), 17 Simphiwe Matanzima (Queen's College), 18 Jacques van Rooyen (Pretoria-Noord), 19 Jacques du Plessis (Ermelo), 20 WJ Steenkamp (Grey College), 21 Keagan Johannes (Garsfontein), 22 Ruan Combrinck (Michaelhouse)/David Coetzer (Selborne College), 23 Stravino Jacobs (Paarl Gimnasium).

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch (Grey High School), 14 Yaw Penxe (Queen's College), 13 Werner Kok (Nelspruit), 12 Marius Louw (Grey College), 11 Thaakir Abrahams (Paarl Boys' High), 10 Lionel Cronjé (Queen's College), 9 Sanele Nohamba (Durban High School), 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (Durban High School), 7 Henco Venter (Grey College), 6 Dylan Richardson (Kearsney College), 5 Gerbrandt Grobler (Affies), 4 Le Roux Roets (Garsfontein/Paarl Boys' High), 3 Thomas du Toit (Paarl Boys' High), 2 Kerron van Vuuren (Glenwood), 1 Khwezi Mona (Selborne College). . Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste (Paarl Boys' High), 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu (Maritzburg College), 18 Khutha Mchunu (Glenwood), 19 Thembelani Bholi (Jamangile Secondary), 20 Reniel Hugo (Paul Roos Gimnasium), 21 Lucky Dlepu (SACS), 22 Jeremy Ward (Grey High School), 23 Anthony Volmink (Bredasdorp). 

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (President).

[powr-comments id="a75ce0af_1631275955363"]