Some close matches during opening week of the BDCE Campus Cup

Written by Hannes Nienaber

BDCECampusCupLogo School of Rugby | Some close matches during opening week of the BDCE Campus Cup - School of Rugby bdce2 School of Rugby | Some close matches during opening week of the BDCE Campus Cup - School of Rugby

The two biggest match-ups during week one of the first round of the BDCE Campus Cup was Marlow Landbou vs Hoërskool Sentraal of Bloemfontein and Marais Viljoen vs HTS Witbank. These two matches gathered almost 8 000 votes during the three voting days during the opening round of the first virtual schools' rugby championship. 

The tie between the Wolramme of Cradock and Tralies went down to the wire with Marlow Landbou edging Sentraal by gathering 53% of the votes. Just over 3 400 votes were cast in this match with Marlow securing just over 1 800 votes to secure the win.

Marlow Landbou will face another Free State team Bothaville in the second round of the competition which will take place in two weeks' time.  

Marais Viljoen of Alberton and HTS Witbank's match-up was even closer as the former won by getting 51% of the over 4 200 votes cast during the clash. There were less than 100 votes that separated the two schools. 

The closest encounter during the first week was between Jan Viljoen of Randfontein and Hoërskool Douglas as percentage-wise they split the votes in half with Jan Viljoen coming out on top in the end by just a couple of votes. In the end, it was only three votes splitting these two schools.  

In total seven of the 64 matches during the first week came down to a single percent splitting the two schools. Diamantveld vs Ermelo, President Steyn vs Leeuwenhof, Nico Malan vs Frikkier Meyer, Marais Viljoen vs HTS Witbank, De Aar vs Wagpos and HTS John Vorster vs Framesby were all decided by a single percentage point. 

This indicates that every vote will count if a school wants to win the grand prize of R15 000 for being crowned the first champion of the BDCE Campus Cup later this year. The champions will also receive supplements from USN worth R8 000. The losing finalist will take home a cool R10 000, while the best placed of the smaller schools will receive R5 000 in cash. 

Every tag of a friend within the comments and sharing of the matches will play a major role in who will be walking away with the big prize in September.

Our title sponsor, BDCE (Business Development Centre of Excellence), provides SETA Accredited Learnerships, Accredited Training, Skills Development, Non-Accredited Training, and Short Courses for businesses. Please have a look at what they offer by clicking on their banner or highlighted name in the paragraph. 

The first round of the competition is played over two weeks. With 128 schools taking each other head-to-head to book their place in the second round. Next week another 128 schools will lock horns as they will look to book their place in the next round. 

The competition is a knock-out tournament like the FA Cup (in English soccer) or the former Lion Cup (SA Rugby competition). The winner of each match/tie is determined by who gets the most votes in the match-up.

The only way to vote is by doing it on the Facebook post made by School of Rugby. The post may be shared with groups and pages of the schools as well as by friends/alumni. Voting is done by clicking on the school's logo you want to vote for. 

Show support to your school or community by voting them to the next round. The competition will take nine-week in total and your school will need your support for eight of the week if they are going to be crowned the first virtual champions of South Africa. 

DigiCampus is also one of our sponsors that made this unique competition possible. They provide online video lessons of the CAPS curriculum from Grade R to 12 for all subjects. If you have a child in school during these uncertain times - they provide an excellent free service in helping schoolchildren with an extra resource to better their grades. 

For more information about the competition visit our website or download the School of Rugby app on the Google Playstore. If you are an iPhone user you could also download the app by going to and clicking on the home button in the right bottom corner and select install application on the device. 

digicampus School of Rugby | Some close matches during opening week of the BDCE Campus Cup - School of Rugby

The results from Round 1 (Week 1): 

Team 1 Percentage  Team 2
Diamantveld 51 49 Ermelo
Punt 73 27 Koffiefontein
Alberton 73 27 Kearsney College
Brits 56 44 Nylstroom
Wonderboom 64 36 SACS
Kalahari 82 18 Sarel Cilliers (Glenco)
Waterkloof 81 19 De Kuilen
Vredendal 63 37 Voortrekker (PMB)
King Edward VII 77 23 Parktown Boys' High
President Steyn 51 49 Leeuwenhof
Noord-Kaap 62 38 Vereeniging Gim
Ficksburg 61 39 Theunissen
Nico Malan 51 49 Frikkie Meyer
Parys 57 43 Montagu
Monument 67 33 Rob Ferreira
Kathu 53 47 AHS Sasolburg
Hoërskool Bellville 72 28 Potch Volkies
Gill College 57 43 George Campbell
Pietersburg 72 28 HTS Welkom
Hoopstad 70 30 Union HS
Zwartkop 57 43 HTS Tom Naude
Delmas 67 33 Cambridge
Ligbron Akademie 65 35 Rondebosch Boys' High
Uitenhage HS 53 47 Hennenman
Strand 59 41 Durbanville
Riebeeckrand 65 35 Bredasdorp
Affies 64 36 Upington
Dinamika 78 22 JG Meiring
Graeme College 52 48 St John's College
Hoogenhout 52 48 Rustenburg
Otto du Plessis 69 31 Trinityhouse
Florida 66 34 Worcester Gim
Tuine 58 42 Bergvlam
Marais Viljoen 51 49 HTS Witbank
Bothaville 62 38 Labori
Marlow Landbou 53 47 Sentraal (Bloem)
Clifton 52 48 Schoonspruit (WC)
Middelburg (MPU) 52 48 Brackenfell
Brandfort 60 40 Krugersdorp High
Welkom Gim 80 20 St Benedict's College
Sand du Plessis 56 44 Bultfontein
Grey College 62 38 Jim Fouché
Piet Potgieter 51 49 Oosterland
Randburg 57 43 Wynberg Boys' High
Oudtshoorn 64 36 Balfour
Kingswood College 79 21 Stirling HS
Hoërskool Grens 62 38 John Vorster (Nigel)
Eldoraigne 65 35 Midstream College
Woodrigde College 61 39 Benoni High
Noordheuwel 60 40 Hans Moore
De Aar 51 49 Wagpos
St Stithians College 67 33 Hottentots-Holland
Jan Viljoen 50 50 Douglas
Montana (BB) 60 40 Queen's College
Jan van Riebeeck 76 24 President (JHB)
Die Anker 67 33 Westville Boys' High
DF Malan 89 11 Kasselsvlei
HTS John Vorster 51 49 Framesby
Langenhoven Gim 64 36 Louis Trichardt
Menlopark 53 47 HTS Daniël Pienaar
Pearson 67 33 Porterville
Ben Viljoen 56 44 Brandwag (Uitenhage)
Barberton 61 39 Klein Nederburg
Tygerberg 52 48 Stellenberg

[powr-comments id="42c6f945_1595145297914"]


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.