Saturday, June 25, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Live updates – Wildeklawer SuperSchools Rugby 2013

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 2 May 2013 Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

EG Jansen recorded a convincing 36-12 victory over Noord-Kaap in the first match of Wildeklawer SuperSchools. The side from Boksburg already build up a 24-7 lead at the break. Their kingpin and flyhalf, Ruan Potgieter put his backline on the front foot with his sniping runs and he his option taking was also of a high standard.

This was only EG Jansen’s third victory at Wildeklawer SuperSchools since it’s inception in 2009. Their other victories came against Framesby in 2010 and Louis Botha in 2012. Their eightman, Marco Holmes was named man of the match for his performance.

Glenwood out (b)lasted Boland Landbou 36-13 after trailing 10-13 at the break. The 30 degree heat took its toll on the Western Cape side in the second half. Besides the heat it was also the spark produced by Glenwood left wing, Sphamandla “Sparks” Ngcobo who scored a hat-trick of tries. Other spledid performances produced by Glenwood players were from eightman Jaco Coetzee and flyhalf Curtis Jonas.

Boland Landbou was enjoying the majority of the ball possession and territory in the first half. Their tighthead prop Matthys Basson showing off his power and skills scoring his sides only try of the match.

Monument of Krugersdorp welcomed newcomers HTS Drostdy with a 36-14 victory. Monnas was in control the whole time and enjoyed a 22-0 lead at the break. Their winger Stefan le Roux scored a brace while Gerdus van der Walt contirbuted 11 points to the final score. Van der Walt is the younger brother of South African Schools’ flyhalf of 2011 Jáko van der Walt. 

Grey College struggled to find their rhythm in the first half, but still managed to beat Oakdale Landbou 42-20. The team from Riversdal was more than able opponents and was the best team on the field in the first half. The sides were deadlocked 13-all at the break after a try by Oakdale winger Juan Terblanché and a penalty by outside centre Jan Oberholzer. 

Grey College’s centre Carel Durow was named man of the match for his efforts. Durow was without a doubt the most influential player in Grey College’s shift of gear in the second half. He and flyhalf Julian Jordaan combined well to find gaps in the Oakdale Landbou defence. 

Grey Boys’ High recorded the second half-century of the first day as they made sure the Kimberley schools finish a day that they would rather forget. Grey PE smashed Diamantveld 51-10 after leading 39-5 at the break. Winger Dylan Vermaak scored two of his side’s nine tries. Richard Bryant and Matthew Alhorough only managed to convert three of their team’s tries. 

EG Jansen 36 (24) – Tries: Martin van Wyk (2), Marco Holmes, Christopher Schimper, Quintin van der Schyff. Conversions: Kobus Engelbrecht(4). Penalty: Engelbrecht. Noord-Kaap 12 (7) – Tries: Hillford Clarke, Nico Graaff. Conversion: Dimitrio Tieties.

Glenwood 36 (10) – Tries: Sphamandla Ngcobo (3), Corné Vermaak, Curtis Jonas, Jaco Coetzee. Conversions: Vermaak (3). Boland Landbou 13 (13) – Try: Matthys Basson. Conversion: Tian Ne. Penalties: Nel (2).

Monument 36 (22) – Stefan le Roux (2), Dwayne Pienaar, Frans van Wyk, Erik Fourie. Conversions: Gerdus van der Walt (4). Penalty: Van der Walt. HTS Drostdy 14 (0) – Tries: Hanro Liebenberg, Yousrie Savahl. Conversions: Wynand Roets (2). 

Affies 41 (29) – Tries: Eduan Keyter (2), Thys van Wyk, Jurie Linde, Francois Steyn. Conversions: Ivan van Zyl (4). Penalty: Van Zyl. Framesby 21 (9) – Tries: Ernst Stapelberg, Wessel Strydom. Conversion: Stapelberg. Penalties: Stapelberg (3). 

Grey College 42 (13) – Tries: EW Viljoen, Carel Durow, Julian Jordaan, Heinrich Sander, Luan Reynders, De Wet Bezuidenhout. Conversions: Stephen Rautenbach (3). Penalties: Rautenbach (2). Oakdale Landbou 20 (13) – Tries: Gene Willemse, Juan Terblanché, Francois du Toit. Conversion: Jan Oberholzer. Penalty: Oberholzer. 

Paarl Boys’ High 55 (29) – Tries: Darren Papier (2), Daylen Daniels (2), Dante van der Merwe (2), Damian Stevens, Charl-Francois du Toit, Thomas du Toit. Conversions: Luan Boshoff (4), Stevens. Sharks Invitational XV 15 (8) – Tries: Jonas Mikalcius, Rogers Zondi. Conversion: Willie Spies. Penalty Spies.  

Grey Boys’ High School 51 (39) – Tries: Dylan Vermaak (2), Johan van Niekerk (2), CJ Velleman, Junior Pokomela Jeremy Ward, Keanu Vers, Linley Kritzinger. Conversions: Richard Bryant (2), Matthew Alhorough. Diamantveld 10 (5) – Tries: JD Swanepoel, Jon-Pierre Abrahams.  

Paarl Gimnasium 45 (14) – Tries: Wayno Visagie (2), Rikus Bothma, JD Schickerling, DJ van Niekerk, Brendon Nell, Dylon Fairbridge. Conversions: Wyatt Murphy (5). Hentie Cilliers 18 (10) – Tries: Sylvester Lewis, Dwayne Softley. Conversion: Ethan Williams. Penalties: Ethan Williams (2).  

Paul Roos Gimnasium 30 (15) – Tries: Daniël du Plessis, HW Barnard, Joel Heugh, Christo van der Merwe. Conversions: Aiydon Cupido (2). Penalties: Cupido (2). Maritzburg College 17 (7) – Tries: Banele Ngwenya (2), Kevin Elder. Conversion: Marcel Coetzee. 

Outeniqua HS 39 (34) – Tries: Duhan van der Merwe (2), Remu Malan, Hennie Barnard, Christopher Roelfse, Leighton Eksteen, Geor Malan. Conversions: Eksteen (2). Waterkloof 19 (0) – Tries: Tinus de Beer (2), David Joyce. Conversions: De Beer. 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!