Saturday, August 13, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Here is the Fixtures for Round 1 (Week 2) of the BDCE Campus Cup

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 20 July 2020 Tags: , , , , , , ,


BDCECampusCupLogoIts almost time for the kick-off of the second week’s matches of the BDCE Campus Cup, the first virtual schools’ rugby championship. 

The match-ups for this week are listed at the bottom of the article. There are some big match-ups with some of the powerhouses of South African schools’ rugby like Paarl Boys’ High, Glenwood, Paarl Gimnasium, Grey High School, Helpmekaar-kollege and Garsfontein being in action during this week. 

The first champion of the BDCE Campus Cup will receive a lucrative prize in R15 000 in cash and also a USN hamper worth R8 000. The losing finalists will also receive a cash prize of R10 000, while there is also something in it for the smaller schools that take part in the competition. The so-called second-tier school that progresses the furthest in the competition will also win R5 000 in cash.

Every tag of a friend within the comments and sharing of the matches will play a major role in who will be walking away with the big prize in September.

Our title sponsor, BDCE (Business Development Centre of Excellence), provides SETA Accredited Learnerships, Accredited Training, Skills Development, Non-Accredited Training, and Short Courses for businesses. Please have a look at what they offer by clicking on their banner or highlighted name in the paragraph. 

The first round of the competition is played over two weeks. With 128 schools taking each other head-to-head to book their place in the second round.

The competition is a knock-out tournament like the FA Cup (in English soccer) or the former Lion Cup (SA Rugby competition). The winner of each match/tie is determined by who gets the most votes in the match-up.

The only way to vote is by doing it on the Facebook post made by School of Rugby. The post may be shared with groups and pages of the schools as well as by friends/alumni. Voting is done by clicking on the school’s logo you want to vote for. 

Show support to your school or community by voting them to the next round. The competition will take nine-week in total and your school will need your support for eight of the week if they are going to be crowned the first virtual champions of South Africa. 

DigiCampus is also one of our sponsors that made this unique competition possible. They provide online video lessons of the CAPS curriculum from Grade R to 12 for all subjects. If you have a child in school during these uncertain times – they provide an excellent free service in helping schoolchildren with an extra resource to better their grades. 

For more information about the competition visit our website or download the School of Rugby app on the Google Playstore. If you are an iPhone user you could also download the app by going to and clicking on the home button in the right bottom corner and select install application on the device. 


The fixtures for Round 1 (Week 2) is: 

St Andrew’s College vs Wilgerivier
Uplands College vs Linden
St Alban’s College vs Klerksdorp
Overberg vs Schweizer-Reneke
Boland Landbou vs Goudveld-Hoërskool
HTS Sasolburg vs Bastion
Hoërskool Kroonstad vs Hilton College
Augsburg Gimnasium vs Burgersdorp
Outeniqua vs Hugenote (Springs)
Solomon Mahlangu vs Hartbeespoort
Oakdale Landbou vs Swartland
Reitz vs Wolmaransstad
HTS Drostdy vs Landboudal (Jacobsdal)
Vredenburg vs Port Natal
Ben Vorster vs Driehoek
Prieska vs Hoërskool Sasolburg
Michaelhouse vs Hermanus
Stoffberg vs Middelburg (EC)
Garsfontein vs Vryburg
Charlie Hofmeyr vs Overkruin
Witteberg vs Paarl Gimnasium
Die Wilgers vs St Andrews (Bloem)
Paarl Boys’ High vs Ellisras
Standerton vs Humansdorp Secondary
Hoërskool Bloemfontein vs Riebeeckstad
HTS Middelburg vs Hentie Cilliers
Harrismith vs Brandwag (Benoni)
EG Jansen vs Heidelberg Volkskool
Frans du Toit vs Zeerust
AHS Kroonstad vs Diocesan College (Bishops)
Hopefield vs Oosterlig
Fichardtpark vs Helpmekaar
Allen Glen vs New Orleans
Dr. Malan vs Hoërskool Nelspruit
Lydenburg vs Heilbron
Wesvalia vs Oos-Moot
Belvedere vs Hartswater
Dale College vs Centurion
President (WC) vs Bergsig Akademie
Jeppe High School for Boys’ vs Secunda
Morgenzon Landbou vs Merensky
Potchefstroom Gimnasium vs Northwood
HTS Port Rex vs St David’s Marist
Grey High School vs Duineveld
Hendrik Potgieter (Reddersburg) vs Aliwal-Noord
Transvalia vs Piet Retief
Bekker vs HTS Bellville
Voortrekker (Bethlehem) vs Hugenote (Wellington)
Vaalharts vs Fochville
Hangklip vs Kempton Park
De Vos Malan vs Piketberg
Lichtenburg vs Hans Strijdom
Zastron vs Pretoria-Noord
Hudson Park vs Pretoria Boys’ High
Wessel Maree vs Schoonspruit
St Charles’ College vs Maritzburg College
Despatch vs Namaqualand
Jeugland vs Glenwood
Volksrust vs Itembelihle
Paul Roos Gimnasium vs Muir College
Ferrum vs Southdowns College
Selborne College vs Pionier
Milnerton vs Parel Vallei
Penryn College vs Monument Park

[powr-comments id=”305fab39_1595310502474″]


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!