Sunday, June 26, 2022
All the latest schoolboy rugby news, results and stats

Can Boland stop WP’s dominance at the u13 Craven Week?

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 5 July 2018 Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

NewsGBoytjieDiedericksIt seems that no-one can stop Western Province’s dominance at the Coca-Cola u13 Craven Week. The union’s team will play for the eighth consecutive year of the tournament in the main game.

They have been crowned unofficial champions at the last four editions of this prestigious tournament. The Craven Week for Primary Schools was first held in Potchefstroom in 1972.

Western Province will face the only other unbeaten side left in the tournament, Boland, in the main match tomorrow at Diamantveld in Kimberley. Their neighbours kept their unbeaten record in the City of Diamonds intact with an impressive 33-8 victory over South Western Districts.

Western Province booked their place in the unofficial final with a hard-fought 17-8 victory over the Blue Bulls. The team from Cape Town’s last defeat at the tournament was back in 2012 against the Bulls in the main game. The side from Pretoria won that match by 19-8.

Of their last 39 matches Western Province played at the Coca-Cola Craven Week they’ve only finished on the losing side in three of the matches. The other two defeats were also in the main matches against the Eastern Province (0-12) and Limpopo Blue Bulls (6-8) in 2009 and 2011 respectively.

The Blue Bulls led 5-3 at the break in Kimberley thanks to a try by flanker Roy Gloster. Their bulky tighthead prop, Liam Pavier, also had a much better game as he won some good metres with the ball in hand.

Western Province’s inside centre, Enzo Labuschagne, scored a brace of tries in the second half to help his team claim victory. Their fullback, Frans van der Merwe, and scrumhalf, Juan Loots, also produced the goods in the game.


Western Province 17 (3) – Tries: Enzo Labuschagne (2). Conversions: Kyle Smith (2). Penalty: Smith. Blue Bulls 8 (5) – Try: Roy Gloster. Penalty: Marco Strydom.

Boland 33 (14) – Tries: Boytjie Diedericks (2), Jovawn Visagie (2), Cayden Malgas. Conversions: Dewald de Villiers (3), Diedericks. South Western Districts 8 (3) – Try: Jeffwin Wesso. Penalty: Ronaldo Kiewiet.

Golden Lions 32 (22) – Tries: Nathan Bester, Tirhani Masondo, Trityne Parsons, Chad Storm, Christi Botes, Junayden Seffier. Conversion: JT Kapank. Valke 15 (10) – Tries: Dirkie Wessels, Jordan Harvey, Exauce Tshamal.

Eastern Province 18 (5) – Tries: Dewald Gerber, Alverique Krige, Elvandry Korkee. Penalty: Daylon Myners. Sharks 17 (3) – Tries: Luyanda Kunene, Kane Plasket-Burne. Conversions: Chris Horak (2). Penalty: Kunene.

Limpopo Blue Bulls 20 (10) – Tries: DA Swart, Ricardo du Plessis, Reuben Weyer, Deon van Huysteen. Free State 17 (10) – Tries: Xander Human, Christiaan van der Westhuizen, Keegan Scholtz. Conversion: Ian van der Merwe.

Pumas 48 (17) – Tries: Roelof Engelbrecht (2), Keith Chirwa (2), Tebogo Nkosi (2), Cornelius Lottering, Hanré Hattingh. Conversions: Engelbrecht (2), Lottering (2). Border Country Districts 0.

Border 22 (7) – Tries: Lihle Maqhugula (2), Siya Sakhela, Bunono Jabavu. Conversion: Daniel Larkan. Griqualand West 5 (5) – Try: Casper Prinsloo.

Leopards 24 (7) – Tries: Vernon Snyman, André van Zyl, Stephan Brits, Baks Chupulogo. Conversions: Theuns du Plooy (2). Griffons 5 (0) – Try: Andi Mentz.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!