SA u18 training squad for Capricorns Sevens announced

Written by Hannes Nienaber

SpringbokSevens School of Rugby | SA u18 training squad for Capricorns Sevens announced - School of RugbyBad news for the other teams attending the third Capricorn International Sevens tournament in Windhoek, Namibia is the fact that South Africa will send another formidable side to defend their title. South Africa u18 will attempt to make it three in a row later this year. 

They were crowned champions during the inaugural tournament back in 2017 when they defeated Namibia by 45-0. Last year the South Africans defeated Germany by 46-0 in the final to retain their title. 

Tiaan Pretorius of Paul Roos Gimnasium is the only member of the extended training squad which was part of last year's victorious side. Pretorius is the cousin of Blitzbok Kwagga Smith. With speedsters like Ian Small-Smith (Grey College), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Helpmekaar) and Xavier Farmer (Paarl Boys' High) the selectors have enough pace to choose from.  

Players like Keke Morabe (Welkom Gimnasium), Pascal Ekeji (Grey College), Henco van Wyk (Monument) and Kade Wolhuter (Paul Roos Gimnasium) is also players that have proved themselves during the 2018-season and could add value if they make the final team for the Capricorn Sevens. 

The training squad will attend a camp from 8 to 10 February in Cape Town after which the final team will be selected. 

The training squad is: 

Sihalo Benge (Border), Ian Small-Smith, Jacobus Cloete, Pascal Ekeji, Sonwabe Sokoyi (all Free State), Keke Morabe (Griffons), Hlumelo Klaas, Siviwe Zondani (both Eastern Province), Conner de Bruyn, Latica Nela, Nico Steyn (all Sharks), Henco van Wyk, Christiaan Bezuidenhout (both Lions), Walter Visser (Pumas), Ethan James, Curwin Gertse, Xavier Farmer, Dalvon Blood, Tiaan Pretorius, Kade Wolhuter, Sacha Mngomezulu, Duran Koevort (all Western Province). 


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.