Paarl Gim and Grey have most representatives in u18 High-Performance squad

Written by Hannes Nienaber

NewsGCompionvonLudwig School of Rugby | Paarl Gim and Grey have most representatives in u18 High-Performance squad - School of RugbyPaarl Gimnasium and Grey College have with seven players each the biggest representation within the SA u18 High-Performance squad of 45 players who will get together for a training camp at the end of July. The squad will be reduced to 35 players who will depart for a tour of Georgia on Saturday, 31 July 2021. 

The team is not a SA Schools' side but it consists out of learners from schools from around the country. The players have been identified as part of SA Rugby High-Performance program. The group will get together in Cape Town for three days before the lucky 35 will depart for Tibilisi. 

In Georgia they will play in three matches. This will provide this group of players with an ideal opportunity to take the next step in their rugby careers.  

Paarl Gimnasium managed to defeat Grey (18-16) for the first time since 2012 earlier this year during the Monnas Centenary Festival. Their seven representatives are Logan Opperman, PA van Niekerk, Liam Koen, Michael Koch, Hennie Sieberhagen, Corné Lavagna and Luca Bakkes.  

Koen is the son of former Springbok flyhalf Louis Koen, while Luca Bakkes is the son of former Griquas captain Luther Bakkes.

Grey College's seven players hopeing to make the trip to Georgia are Alfondso Isaacs, Jean Smith, Caleb Abrahams, Neels Volschenk, JF van Heerden, Johan Louw and Juandré Breitenbach. Smith is the son of of former Springbok and current director of Italian Rugby, Franco Smith

Oakdale Landbou fielded probably one of their best teams in the school's history and four of their stars Philip Kleynhans, Niel le Roux, Paul de Villiers, and Dian Koen made the squad. 

The SA u18 High-Performance squad is: 

Backs (20): Diego Cupido (Helpmekaar), Hakeem Kunene (Paarl Boys' High), Ritsima Sambo (Affies), Litelihle Bester (Maritzburg College), Logan Opperman (Paarl Gimnasium), Alfondso Isaacs (Grey College), Katlego Letebele (Kingswood College), Suleiman Hartzenberg (Bishops), Damian Markus (Stellenberg), Keagan Smith (Paarl Boys' High), Bruce Sherwood (Bishops), PA van Niekerk (Paarl Gimnasium), Ryan Manuel (Glenwood), Jean Smith (Grey College), Liam Koen (Paarl Gimnasium), Imad Khan (Bishops), Compion von Ludwig (Paarl Boys' High), Caleb Abrahams (Grey College), Niel le Roux (Oakdale Landbou), Michael Koch (Paarl Gimnasium). 

Forwards (25): Philip Kleynhans (Oakdale Landbou), Neels Volschenk (Grey College), Abu Ndabambi (Paarl Boys' High), Guy Bishop (Selborne College), Nick Hatton (Hilton College), Liselihle Maphekhula (Graeme College), Paul de Villiers (Oakdale Landbou), Sibabalwe Mahashe (Hudson Park), Gcino Mdletshe (Westville Boys' High), JF van Heerden (Grey College), Hennie Sieberhagen (Paarl Gimnasium), Jan-Hendrik Gouws (Graaff-Reinet Volkskool), Sandile Nzuza (Glenwood), Luca Ribbens (Paarl Boys' High), Abongile Ngandi (Graeme College), Dian Heunis (Oakdale Landbou), Johan Louw (Grey College), Corné Lavagna (Paarl Gimnasium), Phatu Ganyane (Glenwood), Stiaan de Bruyn (Affies), Sifiso Magwaza (Monument),  Zack Porthen (Wynberg Boys' High), Luca Bakkes (Paarl Gimnasium), Bryce Calvert (Westville Boys' High), Michael Pieterse (Rustenbuerg), Juandré Breitenbach (Grey College).

[powr-comments id="4f9ec3d0_1626286422763"]


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.