SA Schools A call up three players

Written by SARU

NewsGFranceSA School of Rugby | SA Schools A call up three players - School of RugbyThe SA Schools A team have welcomed Tiaan Pretorius (Paul Roos Gymnasium), Austin “AJ” Johnson (Garsfontein) and Lukanya “Boepa” Vokozela (Rondebosch) in their ranks this weekend. They replaced Quan Horn (promoted to SA Schools) and the injured duo of Jacques-Louis du Toit and Jordan Hendrikse.

Vokozela hails from Khayalitsha and started playing rugby with the Connect Academy. His talents were soon spotted and an invitation to join Rondebosch Boys’ High School followed. He represented DHL Western Province at Under-16 and Under-18 levels.

Pretorius already played for South Africa at youth level, having represented Team South Africa at the World Youth Olympics in Argentina last year where he was one of the stand-outs in the Rugby Sevens squad.

The energetic outside back, who missed the Craven Week due to concussion but will join the SA Rugby Sevens Academy next year, boasts a notable rugby pedigree. His dad, Torros Pretorius, was a regular for the Phakisa Pumas in his playing days and Springbok flank Kwagga Smith is his uncle.

Johnson, a very strong ball carrier and specialist inside centre, hails from Rustenburg, but played for DHL Western Province at Under-16 level after his parents moved to Cape Town. He then relocated to Garsfontein High School in Pretoria, where the hard-running midfielder is a popular and influential team member of the 'Garsie Bere', as the first team is known.

According to SA Schools A coach Phiwe Nomlomo, they are looking at improving in a number of areas.

“The guys learned a lot from Friday and although the turn-around was short, we have a better idea of what to expect,” said Nomlomo.

“Our defence was poor, so Wales will try to keep the ball and test that. They have a good kicking game as well, so we will be tested in that aspect of play as well. I believe we will do well if we go out and apply ourselves.”

The SA Schools A side to play Wales:

15 Jacques Rousseau (Paarl Boys' High), 14 Sonwabo Sokoyi (Grey College), 13 Tiaan Pretorius (Paul Roos Gimnasium), 12 AJ Johnson (Garsfontein), 11 Sibusiso Javu (Selborne College), 10 Sihlalo Benge (Queen's College), 9 Kabelo Mokheti (Jeppe High School for Boys'), 8 Jarod Cairns (Paul Roos Gimnasium - captain), 7 Izan Esterhuizen (Monument), 6 Pierich Siebert (Paarl Gimnasium), 5 Corné Rahl (Oakdale Landbou), 4 Raynard Roets (Garsfontein), 3 Philip Masango (Wynberg Boys' High), 2 Teague Loelly (Westville Boys' High), 1 Dima Lebelo (Waterkloof). Replacements: 16 Lukhanyo Vokozela (Rondebosch Boys' High), 17 Rynhardt Rijnsburger (Paarl Boys' High), 18 Gerhard van der Merwe (Garsfontein), 19 Marco van Rhyn (Paarl Gimnasium), 20 Sisonke Vumazonke (Grey College), 21 Daimon O'Connell (Selborne College), 22 Joseph Iye (King Edward VII), 23 Indiphile Tyeda (Dale College), 24 Renzo du Plessis (Ben Vorster), 25 Josh van Vreden (Selborne College), 26 Nsuku Baloyi (Menlopark).

The fixtures for Tuesday 13 August 2019, Paarl Gymnasium, Paarl:

SA Schools A vs Wales

Kick-off: 13h00

Referee: Paul Mente (SA Rugby)

SA Schools vs Argentina

Kick-off: 14h35

Referee: Manuel Bottino (Italy)

England vs France

Kick-off: 16h10

Referee: Griffin Colby (SA Rugby)

Issued by SA Rugby Communications


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.